Maine Marijuana Laws
Both Recreational and Medical marijuana dispensaries are open for business. Though adult-use marijuana was legalized in Maine in 2016, the state did not establish regulations for commercial sales until 2019, when Gov. Janet Mills signed LD 719 to approve a ruleset. Though opening was delayed due to COVID-19, sales have begun as of October 9, 2020.
Under Maine law, individuals 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of marijuana. Additionally, adults are allowed to lawfully possess and cultivate up to three mature marijuana plants, 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings.
Adults 21 years of age or older with a valid, government-issued up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis or 2.5 ounces of a combination of cannabis and concentrate that includes no more than 5 grams of concentrate. Medical patients have a 2.5 ounce purchase limit as well. Where to Buy
Consuming cannabis on public or federal land is strictly prohibited and illegal in Maine. Recreational marijuana may only be consumed on private property, out of public view. Adults 21 years of age or older who do choose to consume marijuana in public and are found guilty of perpetrating this civil violation are subject to a fine up to $100.
Maine had been contemplating the allowance of social consumption clubs where adults could safely and legally use marijuana. Unfortunately, the new compromise legislation bans social clubs throughout the state.
Driving Under the Influence
As with any recreational substance, driving under the influence of cannabis is strictly illegal. And, quite frankly, it simply is not worth the risk. Getting caught driving under the influence of cannabis will likely result in a DUI or OWI and leave you with a less than stellar driving record. Trust us, having a clean driving record is much more important than lighting up on the highway.
According to Maine’s marijuana laws, it is legal to transport marijuana accessories and up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis, so long as the marijuana is kept sealed in a child-proof container at all times the transportation vehicle is being used.
As with every other state with some form of legalized marijuana, exporting marijuana across state lines is illegal. Getting caught exporting marijuana from a state where cannabis is legalized in some form is not ideal. Violators face steep fines, jail time and criminal charges on their record. Even though it may sound appealing, it is never worth the risk of ruining your life with legal troubles.
Adults 21 years of age or older are legally allowed to cultivate up to 3 flowering marijuana plants as long as each plant is grown at that person’s home residence out of the view of the public. The grower must also take precaution to prevent access from anyone under 21 years of age.
Additionally, each plant must be tagged with the following information:
- Grower’s name
- Grower’s Maine driver’s license number
- OR Maine ID number
It is also important to note that plants cultivated recreationally are categorized differently than marijuana plants cultivated for medical use. Explore Strains
Medical Cannabis Reciprocity
Maine allows for reciprocity to medical cannabis patients from a number of states. A qualifying visiting patient may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of a combination of medical marijuana and marijuana products every 15 days while visiting the state.
Patients from the following states can purchase their medicine in Maine:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- Washington, DC
Maine allows medical cannabis delivery. Recreational cannabis delivery is not allowed in Maine.
Maine legalized marijuana for medical purposes in 1999, and recreational use in 2016. We offer practical information about marijuana laws and legal issues for those planning a trip or vacation to Maine.
LEARN | LAWS & REGULATIONS
Is weed legal in Maine?
Yes. Both medical and adult-use, or recreational, cannabis is legal in Maine for adults 21 and older.
On Nov. 2, 1999, Maine Medical Marijuana for Specific Illnesses, or Ballot Question 2, passed with 61% of voters in favor. It legalized medical cannabis for patients suffering from serious health conditions.
In 2009 voters passed the Maine Medical Marijuana Act , which expanded the state’s existing program and decriminalized cannabis possession of up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams). It officially established the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMMP). The act created a system of nonprofit dispensaries and cultivators, giving patients and caregivers better access to treatments.
On Nov. 8, 2016, Maine voters passed An Act to Legalize Marijuana , allowing adults 21 and older to possess, consume, and cultivate marijuana for personal use. Since voters approved the original legislation in November 2016, the legislature made a number of changes and compromises and had to overcome vetoes to pass an amended law, LD 1719 . Among the changes was reducing the number of marijuana plants a recreational consumer can grow at home from six to three. The Legislature also postponed consideration of cannabis social clubs until 2023, leaving private property as the only place where recreational cannabis can be consumed.
The revised law established rules for sales of recreational weed and gave Mainers priority for commercial licenses. The provision giving priority to in-state businesses was struck down in 2020 after an out-of-state business brought a lawsuit. That was just one of the wrinkles that kept the state from awarding any recreational retail licenses until September 2020.
Where is it safe to purchase weed in Maine?
Medical marijuana cardholders and recreational customers can find licensed dispensaries in Maine and search by major metro areas including Augusta, Bangor, and Portland. Many dispensaries in Maine offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.
Where is it safe to consume weed in Maine?
Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space such as one’s home or other private property. Consuming cannabis or cannabis-infused products in public is subject to a $100 fine. Use of marijuana in a parked car or in public view is also prohibited. Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of cannabis is illegal.
Qualified patients and caregivers can possess:
- Up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of prepared marijuana
- Six mature plants
- 12 immature female plants
- Unlimited seedlings
- Up to 8 pounds (3.6 kilograms) of dried marijuana
Recreational consumers are allowed to use, transport, possess, or give away:
- 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana and concentrate that includes up to 5 grams of concentrate
- Three mature plants
- 12 immature plants
- Unlimited seedlings
They can give away up to six immature plants. Any marijuana gifts must be to adults over 21 years of age and completely free of charge.
View the marijuana laws & regulations for Maine.